Madden NFL 21 PS5 and Xbox Series X Upgrade Available | Online Play Disabled

Just like FIFA 21, EA Sports has decided to release Madden NFL 21 a day early for both the PS5 and Xbox Series X. The next-generation upgrade promises better graphics and smoother gameplay at 4K for both the consoles. However, PS5 players might be in for some disappointment.

Madden NFL 21 is an American football video game series developed by EA Sports. The game offers realistic gameplay while providing players the opportunity to play as iconic football legends.

Madden NFL 21 PS5 and Xbox Series X/S Upgrade

madden nfl 21 upgrade

Players can upgrade to the PS5 and Xbox Series X version of the game right now. However, the PS5 version currently does not feature online play due to an internal issue discovered during the final testing of Madden NFL 21.

Related: Madden NFL 21 Update 1.20 Patch Notes

The issue only pops up when you try to play the Multiplayer mode when it tries connecting to EA Servers through PSN. So, the game’s online functionality is turned off for now.

Here’s how you can avail the free upgrade on both the PS5 and Xbox Series X:

How to Get FIFA 21 Upgrade on PS5

madden nfl 21 ps5 connectivity issues

You have to log in to your PS5 platform account (PSN Account) that already had the game purchased on the PS4. Then, go over to your games library, which should have a new icon allowing you to upgrade to the next-gen version. Move towards the Buy button and get the game. Don’t worry. You won’t be charged as the upgrade is completely free. Once the download is done, there you go! You on the next-gen version.

Note: Online Play is still not active as of yet (4/12/20)

How to Get FIFA 21 Upgrade on Xbox Series X/S

For the Xbox Series X, the process is even simpler. Just head over to the Games Store and grab your copy of PS5. You should now be downloading the next-generation version free of cost.

This concludes everything you needed to know how you can upgrade to the next-generation version of Madden NFL 21 on both the PS5 and Xbox Series X.

Leave a Comment