Pokemon Legends: Arceus Best Starter Pokemons

Pokemon Legends: Arceus

When playing a Pokemon game, the most important decision to make is to pick a starter. In every game, you are given three choices to choose from. A fire type, water type, and grass type. Pokemon Legends Arceus is no different. That is why this guide will show you the best Pokemon Legends Arceus starter Pokemon.

Not only that, we will go over why that Pokemon is the best by comparing their evolutions and abilities in the late game. While all three are usually equal, it comes down to your personal preference. With that said, let’s dive right in and take a look at the best starting Pokemon in Pokemon Legends Arceus.

Best Starter Pokemons in Pokemon Legends: Arceus

Best Starter

Game Freak – the developers – made a bold move by giving players the ability to choose starters from different generations. This time around, you can pick from Cyndaquil from Johto, Rowlet from Alola, and Oshawott from Unova.

When it’s time to choose a starter, you will notice that Cyndaquil is a fire type, Oshawott is a water type, and Rowlet is a grass/flying type. Yes, you heard that correctly, Rowlet has two types; making him the most unique out of the three. While that is a good thing, it comes with tons of flaws of its own. Naturally, he will be weaker to more attacks than the rest. However, he also learns two different types of attacks; giving you a lot of variety. He also has good defense and Sp. defense stats across the board.

However, as we mentioned earlier, it comes down to your preference. All three are good options and they all have their own strengths and weaknesses. We prefer Rowlett to be better than the rest due to the fact that it can learn grass, flying, normal, and ghost-type moves before its first evolution. Choosing him will give you more options and more variety of attacks.


Each of the three Pokemon evolves two different times – with the third being their final evolution. In case you were curious about the levels at which they evolve, here they are:

  • Rowlet evolves into Dartrix at level 17, and then into Decidueye at level 34
  • Cyndaquil evolves into Quilava at level 14, and then into Typhlosion at level 36
  • Oshawott evolves into Dewott at level 17, and then into Samurott at level 36

Keep in mind that these were the rules in their generation of games. However, we might see something different in Pokemon Legends Arceus.

Are The Final Evolutions Different?

Are The Final Evolutions Different

The image above has also been shared on official channels, seeming to showcase some brand-new silhouettes for Rowlet, Cyndaquil, and Oshawott’s final forms. It can be just like Sun & Moon’s Alola region with its own variants.

Since the game is a prequel to all other games, we might see different evolutions and forms. It might even change the lore of the future games. But, we are getting ahead of ourselves. We will have to wait and see what the game has to offer in terms of story.

With all of this in mind, then, the launch of Pokémon Legends: Arceus just got a little bit more interesting! While I love Cyndaquil – due to it transforming into Typhlosion, it is safe to say that Rowlet is the best starter Pokemon. It can take some effort and strategy to train it but once you do, it is worth it.

Let us know in the comments below what your favorite starter is and which generation did you like the most.

About the author

One response

  1. Nikki_boagreis Avatar

    Pokemon legend Arceus is amazing, love every game aspect. Not having any load screen with encounters is a nice and welcomed feature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *